Chipotle – Its Not Easy to Find Good Food In Airports

March 8, 2014 — 3 Comments

Fast food is changing for the better. Every other Friday, I fly through Baltimore Airport, known to many as BWI, around 6PM after a long week of work. When I land, I am extremely hungry and ready for something good to eat. At most airports, I grab a granola bar and wait till I get home to eat because of the bad food.  BWI has the typical fast food choices: McDonalds, Quiznos, Subway, a sports bar with an overpriced burger, Dunkin Donuts, a tasteless pizza place and, of course, a Starbucks. BWI has something that most airports don’t have: a Chipotle. Chipotle is the only restaurant in the airport with any customers. Last Friday, I patiently waited in a 15 minute line for my usual, a steak burrito. There was no line at McDonalds.

Chipotle has changed the way consumers think about fast food. Chipotle has elevated the fast food experience through good food and natural ingredients at a fair price. As Joe from Chipotle tweeted “Its not easy to find good food in airports”. He’s right, but that shouldn’t be the case. Chipotle has successfully challenged many of the rules in the fast food industry. Consumers are willing to wait 15-20 minutes in line and risk missing their flight for the good food at a fair value that Chipotle is offering. Chipotle asked the question, “Why shouldn’t fast food and airport food be good and good for you?” They have changed the game and other fast food restaurants will need to change or risk major sales decreases.

Have you eaten at Chipotle?  

3 responses to Chipotle – Its Not Easy to Find Good Food In Airports

  1. 
    Joe McLaughlin March 11, 2014 at 9:21 am

    I am very familiar with BWI and the food choices. I do like Chipolte, but I don’t like long lines at airports. At BWI I typically eat at the Silver Diner.

  2. 

    Joe thanks for the comment. I will have to try the Silver Diner

  3. 

    Chipotle is hands-down my favorite “fast food”. It tastes fantastic, is quick, and has just enough variety. Plus, it’s reasonably priced. But, my favorite thing is to learn about the background of the company and how they focus on “food with integrity”. Organic, local, no hormones/antibiotics, naturally raised – amazing words that 99% of restaurants don’t even consider, let alone a company this size. Recent news that they’re eliminating foods with GMOs is icing on the cake. I love everything about them! (I should work in their marketing department, ha)

Leave a comment