What Ever Happened to Hathaway Shirts?

December 4, 2013 — 25 Comments

The C.F Hathaway Company was founded in Waterville, Maine in 1837. The company made shirts for Union soldiers during the Civil War. The company built the ready to wear shirt business in the United States.

For over 100 years, the company succeeded without advertising. In 1951, Ellerton Jette President and Owner decided it was time to expand Hathaway and build it into a national brand. Like other small business owners, he didn’t have much money. However, that did not prevent him from thinking big. He had heard about the advertising talents of David Ogilvy. So he scheduled a meeting with Ogilvy. Hathaway’s ad budget was only $30,000 so his account was not that attractive to major advertising agencies. He knew he had only one chance to forge a relationship with one of advertising’s most creative thinkers. To convince David Ogilvy to handle the account, Jette promised that he would never alter his copy or fire him. The agreement stood for over 20 years. Jette was smart enough to think beyond his own goals and understand the problems that advertising agencies face, clients that change copy and fire them at a moment’s notice.

hathaway-shirt

While working on the ad campaign, Ogilvy became inspired by photos of politician Lewis Douglas sporting an eye patch and as a last-minute decision at the photo shoot decided to photograph a distinguished looking man wearing a white button-down Hathaway shirt and a black eye patch. The eye patch was a great story and created an emotional connection with consumers. Consumers wondered how the man had lost his eye. The story of the “The Man in the Hathaway Shirt”  advertising was very successful. When the ads ran in The New Yorker, Hathaway’s entire stock sold out. The company’s sales doubled in less than five years. The “Hathaway Man” campaign was selected by Advertising Age as #22 on its list of the greatest ad campaigns of the 20th century.

I have owned several Hathaway white button-dress shirts over the years and appreciated their quality. It’s hard to find a Hathaway shirt today.

The Hathaway Brand has struggled in recent years and has faded from most retail shelves. The brand has been sold several times. Its decline has been blamed on competition and the rise in the trend to casual wear. In 2002, Hathaway closed its manufacturing facility in Waterville, Maine. It was one of the last companies to manufacture shirts in the United States.

From my perspective, Hathaway is an iconic American Brand with a great story. It seems time for a re-launch.

Did you ever own a Hathaway Shirt?

25 responses to What Ever Happened to Hathaway Shirts?

  1. 

    Have a photo from 36 years ago with my husband wearing the same Hathaway shirt he wears today. Incredible! No holes or repairs. It was the old photo that sent me on the Hathaway shirt search! So sorry that they closed the factory.

  2. 

    These were the greatest shirts. Right look, right style, perfect collars. I kept extras of the three hole buttons in case I needed a new button (one dry-cleaner kept cracking my buttons) because they were unique.

  3. 

    I too loved Hathaway shirts. They were always my “brand of choice” while growing up and going to school. Every now and then I Google to see if maybe the company has had a resurgence … but sad to see that, so far, they must still remain a memory.

  4. 

    I’m wearing one right now….it’s 20 years old, and still in good shape…and I’ve got 2 more hanging in the closet! They’re really comfortable.

  5. 

    Loved! The original 100% cotton long sleeve and short sold at Costco. Nice soft & sturdy!

  6. 
    shawn M. Wade July 11, 2017 at 3:59 pm

    I love them too. i got a few of them made in China a few years ago and even though they are probably not the same quality as their predecessors they are amazing! I love these shirts and think it’s time for a re-launch!

  7. 

    I loved the two Hathaway misses shirts I had in high school. Hathaway only made women’s shirts a short time, in the 1970’s, but the cotton was very soft and wore well. I wish they had kept making them.

  8. 

    I bought one at a Salvation Army. It became my favorite shirt. I managed to rip a hole in the sleeve, and I’m still having trouble parting with it. My search for where I can replace it brought me here. Great hearing the backstory.

  9. 

    I was lucky enough to purchase four white button downs in the late 1990s. I still wear them regularly, and the lady at the local laundry has commented about the quality of the fabric a few times. Wish they would find a way to make a return to the US.

  10. 

    I remember they got a government bailout and then, very shortly after, folded anyway.
    Sounded to me like a take the money and run. Shame.

  11. 

    I found a xxl Hathaway shirt in a thrift store and it’s the best and most comfortable fitting shirt I have ever owned, please let me know where I can find more Hathaway brand shirts

    My email is mancinileonard@gmail.com

  12. 

    My parents worked for CF Hathaway for 30+ years – I had more ladies button downs than I could wear – Great quality workmanship – You don’t get that anymore…it was a shame when they closed.

    • 

      I loved the Hathaway white button down oxford cloth shirts. When I heard that they were closing I bought a bunch, I am now down to my last four shirts. They are a great shirt from fabric to fit.

  13. 

    The Hathaway shirts certainly stood the test of time (and fashion). My husband and I bought several men’s checkered shirts just before they closed and he wore them all the time, he died 11 years ago, and my son has been wearing them ever since (they always go to the cleaners and not washed at home). Now, that’s quality!

  14. 

    They were at one time the finest men’s dress shirts ever produced. But then gradually quality decreased because they started pinching pennies. Then to drive the nails in the coffin Warnaco did a hostile takeover, headed by Linda Wachner. She was a “Jekyll and Hyde” buffoon and she drove the business into the ground. Mainers tried to keep the factory running but they didn’t seem to have the business acumen to do so. Their excuse was that they lost a contract to make military uniforms to prison workers. What???

  15. 

    I was reading the Confessions of an advertising man , I haven’t heard of this company as I am young. in his book , David has mentioned to campaign, Dove soap and Hathaway shirts, I got interested to read about it,
    I think it can raise again by beautiful social media marketing. a beautiful trend to make it a modern life style would bring it to the arena again; exactly like Starbucks

  16. 

    Hathaway shirts were my favorite and I owned several, buying them with my allowance and money I earned. I was a teenager at the time.

  17. 

    As a young exec in the early ’80’s, they were my favorite white dress shirt. I recall, I had many of them. I was thin with longer arms( approx. 15 1/2 x 34) and never had any problem finding my size. Sorry to see them go.

  18. 

    I still have several of my Hathaway shirts that hang in my closet on nice wooden hangers. The quality of the shirts is unmatched.. I still wear them on special occasions. I would pay a $100. per shirt or more if I could by a Hathaway again.. Dan Halloran Charleston WV.

  19. 

    I love Hathaway shirts! The quality was awesome, the knit was tight and afforded comfort summer or Winter.

  20. 
    rand wintermute May 15, 2022 at 10:15 am

    Years ago , as a Clothing and Textiles student at my university in 1967 , we performed a test of all the major shirt manufacturers, comparing thread count,
    Button sewing enhancement, quality of Cotten, collar pointedness, etc. and the Hathaway shirt came across as the BEST manufactured shirt in America. It was an amazing shirt made in America !
    Rand W.

  21. 

    They had the most attractive fabric colors and designs when they were a U.S. company. Unfortunately, you won’t find such ingenuity and resourcefulness anymore.

  22. 

    I bought a button down Hathaway shirt 22 years ago in the UK and wear it still, I had no idea they were no longer manufactured. Another great USA brand lost.

  23. 

    best shirts ever! I remember the ‘H’ embroidered where the tail of the shirt met the shirt front. Shirts looked good and lasted forever.

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. 9 Essential Marketing Tips from the Father of Advertising | Process Street - May 15, 2017

    […] successful ads ran for decades. His campaign for Hathaway shirts saw their business explode after more than a century of small-time success. His theme for SAAB as ideal winter cars not only won them an award three […]

Leave a comment